← All posts

Skincare dupes: a matching label is not a matching product

· 7 min read

Three clay-style skincare bottles, one of them fitted with a dropper

An ingredient list tells you what is in a product and roughly how much of the first few things. It does not tell you how much of the active, because almost every active sits below one percent, and below one percent the list stops being in any order at all. So read the label to rule a dupe out. Never read it to confirm one.

Here is what the order actually means, where the line falls, and the two categories where you can skip all of this and just read the number.

The order means concentration, up to a point

US cosmetic labelling rules require ingredients to be declared in descending order of predominance by weight. The EU rule works the same way. First ingredient is the largest share, second is the next, and so on down the list.

Then there is the escape hatch. A brand may instead group the list: everything above one percent in descending order, followed by everything present at one percent or less in any order it likes, followed by colour additives in any order. The top of a list is a ranking. The bottom of it is a bag.

For most face products the first five or six ingredients are the body of the thing: water, a humectant like glycerin, an emollient, a thickener, an emulsifier. Two products with a near-identical top five are made of the same stuff. That is a real finding. It is also the cheapest part of the formula.

Find the one percent line first

You cannot see the line, but you can usually work out roughly where it falls. Preservatives and functional additives are used in tiny amounts and several of them have legal caps, which makes them markers.

Phenoxyethanol is the most useful one. The EU caps it at one percent in a finished product, so in a list written for that market, everything from phenoxyethanol onward is at one percent or less. Carbomer, xanthan gum, disodium EDTA, tocopherol, sodium hydroxide and parfum live down there too.

The limit, said out loud: a legal maximum is not a use level. A brand may use phenoxyethanol at half a percent, which puts the real boundary a little above it. This gives you a fuzzy line, not a measurement. It is still enough for the only question that matters here. Is the active above the line or below it?

The actives are almost always below it

Over-the-counter retinol runs from about 0.01% to 1%. That is a hundredfold range, and every product inside it prints retinol in the same region of the label: somewhere in the tail, after the preservative, in no particular order. A serum doing real work and a serum carrying a rumour of retinol look identical on the ingredient list.

The industry has a name for the bottom of that range. Ingredient dusting, or pixie dusting: adding an active at a level too low to do anything measurable, so the marketing page can name it. It is not a lie. The ingredient is genuinely in there. It is in there at 0.01%.

This is also why a dupe finder's match score means less than it looks like it means. Tools like SkinSort and SKINSKOOL compare ingredient lists and score the overlap, and they are genuinely good at the job: they will surface the products built on the same base in seconds, which is work you do not want to do by hand. But concentrations are not disclosed by manufacturers, so no tool has them, and both are upfront about it. A 97% match is a statement about the base. The other 3% is where the money went.

Same ingredient, different product

Even at an identical concentration, the same molecule can behave differently:

Two categories where you can just read the number

In the US, sunscreens and acne treatments are not cosmetics. They are over-the-counter drugs, so they carry a Drug Facts panel as well as an ingredient list, and that panel declares each active with its percentage: benzoyl peroxide 5%, salicylic acid 2%, and so on. Everything else in the formula is listed underneath as inactive ingredients. Anti-dandruff products work the same way.

For those, comparing a dupe is arithmetic. Same actives at the same percentages means you are looking at two genuinely comparable products, and all that is left to judge is the base, the finish, and whether it breaks you out.

Everywhere else, the number exists only if the brand decided to print it, on the bottle or in the product description. Plenty do. When one product publishes a percentage and its supposed dupe does not, that silence is information.

How to actually judge one

This is a shopping method, not medical advice

Everything above is about reading a label to work out whether two products are the same product at different prices. None of it is advice about your skin. An ingredient list cannot tell you whether something will irritate you, clash with a prescription topical, or be a bad idea while pregnant. If you have a skin condition, use prescription retinoids or acne medication, or react to things, that is a question for a dermatologist or a pharmacist, not for a match percentage. Patch test anything new on a small area for a few days before it goes near your face.

Where this fits

The hard part usually happens earlier than the label. You saw a bottle in a video, nobody named it, and you cannot compare two ingredient lists until you know what both products are.

That earlier part is the bit Stealsy does. Share the video to the app and it identifies the products in it, prices them, links each one to a verified shop page, and shows the cheaper dupes it can find. It does not read INCI lists, score ingredient overlap, or have an opinion on whether a dupe works. It hands you two names and two prices. The label comparison after that is yours, and it is worth the ten minutes, because a dupe and a counterfeit are not the same thing and neither is a copy of the packaging with none of the formula in it.

Get Stealsy for iPhone — share a video, get the products and the dupes.

Common questions

Can you tell whether a skincare dupe works from the ingredient list?
Only partly. An ingredient list is ordered by concentration, so if two products share their first five or six ingredients they are built on the same base, and that is a real finding. But cosmetic labelling rules let a brand list everything at or below one percent in any order it likes, and most actives are used at or below one percent. Over-the-counter retinol, for example, runs from roughly 0.01% to 1%, and every product in that hundredfold range prints retinol in the same unordered tail of the label. Use the ingredient list to rule a dupe out. Do not use it to confirm one.
What is the 1% rule on a skincare ingredient list?
Cosmetic ingredients must be declared in descending order of predominance by weight, but US and EU rules both allow an alternative: everything above one percent in descending order, then everything at or below one percent in any order, then colour additives in any order. So the top of a list is a ranking and the bottom of it is an unordered bag. You can usually locate the boundary because several low-use ingredients have legal caps. Phenoxyethanol is capped at one percent in the EU, so in a list written for that market everything from phenoxyethanol onward is at one percent or less. That is a rough marker, not a measurement, because a legal maximum is not the same as the level actually used.
Why do two products with the same ingredients work differently?
Because a label names molecules, not formulas. Four things change the outcome without changing the ingredient list. Concentration, which is not disclosed below one percent. pH: L-ascorbic acid needs an acidic formula, around pH 3.0 to 3.5, and above roughly pH 4 it converts faster into forms with no antioxidant benefit. The base carrying the active, which changes how much of it reaches skin and how the product feels. And the packaging, which appears nowhere on an ingredient list: an unstable active in a clear jar you open every morning degrades faster than the same active in an opaque airless pump.
Where can you find the actual percentage of an active ingredient?
Two places. In the US, sunscreens, acne treatments and anti-dandruff products are regulated as over-the-counter drugs rather than cosmetics, so they carry a Drug Facts panel that declares each active ingredient with its percentage, such as benzoyl peroxide 5% or salicylic acid 2%. Everything else in the formula is listed separately as inactive ingredients. Outside those categories the percentage exists only if the brand chose to publish it, on the packaging or in the product description. When one product prints a percentage and its supposed dupe does not, that silence is itself information.